Guernica + Van Gogh

van-gogh-8.jpgIn this past weeks topic of Art and War I felt like for once I actually sat down and analyzed some form of art. The piece that we analyzed in class had a story behind it and after learning more about the Spanish Civil war I realized how much the painting actually had to do with the pain and anguish that overtook the Bask town of Guernica. The painting had different sections that told different stories and had different representations. We also analyzed Vincent Van Gogh who I found to be quite the character. His crazy behavior gave different meanings to his paintings and the fact that knowing his personality and the history of his life could let you know that there was meaning and there was thought behind everything. It gave me a different outlook on art and I can say that I am curious to learn more about these different artists.  

Leave a Reply

